The Shadow Rises (I Fall)

Layers of filth

accumulate around me

My skin becomes dirt

my limbs embed in ground.

I can’t be cleansed

it won’t go away

I am being swallowed

I am being buried

I once was human.

I once was whole.

I’ve been broken

into pieces.

I am broken

because I break others

I am not human

I am not human

(I’m still here

I’m still here

I’m still here

I’m still here)

Under the weight of who I am

the weight of what I’ve done

the weight of what I’ve not done

the weight of failure.

(I’m not a bad person

I’m not a bad person

I’m not a bad person

I’m not a bad person)

Compressed into the crust.

I fossilise in this pit.

I turn viscous

and melt into the core.

(I’m trying to fight this

I’m trying to stay alive

I’m trying to stay solid

I’m trying to stay here)

I taint the molten rock

cooling it

to a blackened husk

(I’m not toxic

I’m not cold

I’m not selfish)

I eat light

I eat life

I eat dreams

(I can bring happiness

I can bring joy

I can help)

I swallow the core

grow bigger and multiply

flooding the planet

with my disease

(I can’t hold it all in

It’s taking over

I am becoming

This disease)

The trees die

cancerous beasts roam

the sky falls down

the atmosphere shatters

Everything I touch

turns to dust

It all falls apart

under me

this world is left barren

by my toxic touch

those I love

will suffer for me

I leave this place

twist into space

shut the stars off

all at once

I eat planets

just for fun

The shards of me

splinter off into the void

and all that’s left

is the empty blackness

(I wish…

I wish I’d not begun

to exist

to live

to be known.

to be loved)

Leave a Reply

