Topography

As I trace along your features

all your ridges

hillocks

rivers

I pick up

tiny pieces

of information

and create a map

of you

in my head

sometimes

those features

change

over time

some stay resolute

in the face of adverse weather

your topography changes

yet you’re still the same place

I know

a river may swell

stopping me crossing

but there’s a tree

over yonder

that can provide

safe passage

my map

however

my atlas

is only

a representation

the wild

vibrant

reality

is where I’d rather be

than some

crudely drawn

approximation

So, I fold my map up

to explore

as nature intended

Leave a Reply

