Book of Li(k)es

Facebook is a labyrinth

of unwanted recall,

of naïve moments

& ignorant belief.


Faces, names, likes,

situations and events

repeatedly paraded

around my face.


It’s all unintentional, of course.

I understand the social necessity.

I’m just not interested in it right now.

My past became a punishing algorithm.


I try to ignore it,

change settings,

remove friends.

But it makes no difference.


Because I’ve been trained,

like a Pavlovian dog,

to seek it all out.


To stare at this lying box,

strain my eyes

and feed myself into it.


This site is

a prettily packaged past pusher.

Very little to offer

but things already done.


It has become so disorienting.

Leave a Reply

