I feel myself changing,

Chrysalis.

Kafka would be proud of me,

Metamorphosis.

 

I’ve been hardened into a diamond,

Impurities pressed away,

Facets begin to form,

This skin sloughs away

 

The truth will out

The light will shine

Hunkered in the dark

It burns these eyes of mine

 

The cave is dissipating,

I sit, anticipating

 

The walls come down

The tower crumbles

The earth shakes

The sky rumbles

 

The eye of the storm

is a place of timidity

surrounded by weather

with awesome agility

 

The sun’s been raised up,

The Moon’s been weighed down

I place on myself

The hierophant’s gown

 

I collect up my scripture

I pull out my quill

and note down on the first page

‘Thou shalt always Kill’

 

But before I can continue

I must grieve

for the me that I killed

the me that’s bereaved

 

My personhood shifted,

my purpose now lifted

I evolved, at the expense

of the me that I was gifted.

Leave a Reply

